Awards with stars

Appointments and awards


Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D., chairman of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, has been named chair-elect of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM), the board that certifies the nation’s family physicians. Dr. Jaén will chair the board for one year starting in 2014. Dr. Jaén occupies the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Professorship in the Patient-Centered Medical Home, and is a professor of epidemiology and biostatistics in the School of Medicine. The ABFM is one of the 24-member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.

David J. Jones, M.S., Ph.D., senior associate dean for admissions and professor in the Departments of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology, was named the recipient of the Robert Sabalis Award for Exemplary Service at the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Southern Group on Student Affairs meeting this past spring. The award is in recognition of his extraordinary record of accomplishment, leadership, resourcefulness, dedication, mentorship of colleagues and commitment to the mission of the AAMC Southern Group on Student Affairs.

Charleen M. Moore, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Cellular and Structural Biology, was named a 2013 Piper Professor by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. She received a $5,000 honorarium, certificate and gold pin. Only 10 faculty members statewide from institutions of higher learning are honored annually as Piper Professors. Dr. Moore is the 13th Health Science Center professor to receive this award. “I am still teaching after 40 years because of my opportunities to introduce students to the wonders of the human body, the human genome and the history of medicine,” Dr. Moore said.

Kathleen R. Stevens, Ed.D., RN, professor in the Department of Health Restoration and Care Systems Management in the School of Nursing and founding director of the Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice, was appointed to be The University of Texas System Chancellor’s Health Fellow in Inter-professional Health Delivery Science. The purpose of the fellowship is to develop a multi-institutional network of investigators across the UT System in health delivery science and related areas, including implementation science, comparative effectiveness research, and patient-centered outcomes research. Since 2007, she has garnered $9 million to support efforts that advance evidence-based quality improvement through research, education and practice.

You may also like

Leave a comment