Honors and Awards

Text reading honors and awards.

School of Nursing faculty recognized for their service and excellence

American Academy of Nursing Fellows

Head shot of Dr. Kyungeh AnTwo UT Health San Antonio faculty members were inducted as American Academy of Nursing fellows in 2022. Kyungeh An, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, professor, nursing researcher and director of the School of Nursing’s PhD program, was part of a team discovering the causes of delays in diagnosing and treating heart attacks and strokes. She is also an Xforce on acupuncture research guidelines.

Headshot of Dr. Cindy SickoraCindy Sickora, DNP, RN, FAAN, clinical professor and vice dean of practice and community engagement, turned the School of Nursing’s clinical practice into a fully sustainable, nurse-led enterprise of $6 million since joining the faculty in 2017.



UT Health San Antonio Presidential Awards

Headshot of Dr. Andrea Berndt.Three School of Nursing faculty members received Presidential Awards in 2023. Andrea Berndt, PhD, MS, associate professor, received a Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence–Sustained.


Headshot of Dr. Kimberly Hughes.Kimberly Hughes, DNP, RNC-OB, CNS, assistant professor/clinical, received her Presidential Award in the Teaching Excellence–Emerging category.



Headshot of Dr. Karen Schwab.

Karen Schwab, PhD, APRN, CPNP-PC, PMHS, associate professor/clinical and director of pediatric services for the School of Nursing’s Wellness 360 clinical enterprise, received a 2023 Presidential Award for Clinical Excellence.


Headshot of Dr. Gretchel Gealogo Brown.Gretchel Gealogo Brown, PhD, RN, MHR, MSN, assistant professor in the Office for Faculty Excellence, received the 2022 Presidential Award in the Teaching Excellence–Emerging category. The Presidential Awards recognize individuals demonstrating a strong commitment to UT Health San Antonio’s mission and core values.



Outstanding Nurse Texas Nurses Association

Headshot of Dr. Maria Danel Lapiz Bluhm.Maria Danet Lapiz Bluhm, PhD, RN, MSCI, FAAN, ANEF, professor, has been selected as one of 25 Outstanding Nurses for 2022 by the Texas Nurses Association. Bluhm was recognized for her commitment to community health and wellness and her front-line leadership in establishing vaccination clinics in minority communities.



Sister Bernadette Arminger Award American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Headshot of Dr. Eileen Breslin.Former School of Nursing Dean Eileen Breslin, PhD, RN, FAAN, received the Sister Bernadette Arminger award from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing in October 2022. The award honors nurse leaders who have made significant contributions to the association, its goals, nursing education and the advancement of the nursing profession. A 28-year member of the association, Breslin served as president, president-elect and treasurer of the organization.


Best Nurses of South Central Texas San Antonio Nursing Consortium

Headshot of Dr. Peter Guarnero.Several faculty members were recognized during the San Antonio Nursing Consortium’s 2022 25 Best Nurses of South Central Texas Awards ceremony. Peter A. Guarnero, PhD, RN, MSc, associate professor/clinical, was honored among the top 25 nurses for nursing education.


Headshot of Dr. Jacqueline McGrath.Jacqueline McGrath, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN, professor and vice dean for faculty excellence, received special recognition for leadership in nursing education. McGrath also received the Faculty Senate’s 2022–2023 academic year Administrative Leadership Award, given to a senior member of administration in recognition of outstanding, long-term contributions to promote and support the missions and well-being of faculty.

Share this post!

In the 2023 issue of Tribute

Tribute is the official magazine for the alumni and friends of the School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2023 issue

Categories for this article :