UT Health San Antonio

2019 Presidential Award Winners

Dr. David Libich

Dr. James D. Stockand, Dr. Bess Frost, Dr. Michael A. Liss, Dr. Glenn A. Halff, Dr. Keith A. Krolick, Dr. LuZhe Sun, Dr. Ameet S. Nagpal, and Dr. Ramaswamy Sharma.

UT System Rising STARs Award Winners

Dr. Weixing Zhao, Dr. David Libich, Dr. Siyuan Zheng, Dr. Carie Boychuk, and Dr. Masahiro Morita.

2019 Extraordinary Women in Medicine Leadership Award from Bexar County Medical Society

Dr. Siyuan Zheng

Dr. Christina Bird, Dr. Tharani Ravi, Dr. Ying Li, Dr. Ratha Bhavaraju-Sanka, Dr. Laura Dominguez, Dr. Marissa Early, Dr. Cynthia Blanco, Dr. Jane Lynch, Dr. Carol Dornbluth, Dr. Tracy Johnson, Dr. Megan Richard, Dr. Deborah Mueller, Dr. Ashley Hadaway, and Dr. Danielle Fritze.

Distinguished Service Award from the Bexar County Medical Society

Dr. Marvin Forland, emeritus professor and founding faculty member.

2019 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize from Ohio University and the National Academy of Engineering

Dr. Carie Boychuk

Ashbel Smith Professor Dr. Julio C. Palmaz.

New Leadership Appointments

  • Dr. Allen S. Anderson, chief, Janey and Dolph Briscoe Division of Cardiology
  • Dr. Mark Bonnen, chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
  • Dr. Francisco Cigarroa, director, Transplant Center
  • Dr. Daruka Mahadevan, chief, Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology
  • Dr. Amelie G. Ramirez, chair, Department of Population Health Sciences (formerly
  • Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics)
  • Dr. Ralph Riviello, chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Randal Robinson, chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Dr. Frank Rosinia, chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Dr. Steven Seidner, chair, Department of Pediatrics

Researchers received $4 million in new awards from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas:

  • Dr. Yuzuru Shiio $1.2 million to further studies of Ewing sarcoma. His laboratory discovered a novel signaling pathway that when inhibited profoundly impairs the cancer’s ability to proliferate.
  • Dr. Addanki Pratap Kumar $900,000 to test the effectiveness of berberine as an adjuvant agent in prostate cancer. The funding is for preclinical and basic research to further develop the agent for later clinical trials.
  • Dr. Ricardo C.T. Aguiar $900,000 to validate the emerging concept that mitochondria play important roles in physiology and disease. His lab will focus on metabolites to understand how they contribute to regulating levels of a host of genes, many of which may contribute to cancer development and progression.
  • Dr. Yogesh Gupta

    Dr. Yidong Chen $892,157 for his work in computational science. The award will be used to aid in a study predicting drug response from genomic data using deep learning methods.

  • Dr. Yogesh Gupta $199,996 which will allow him to use structural and chemical biology approaches to define how BAF complexes operate in pediatric sarcomas. He anticipates this work will lead to development of more effective treatments for children with highly aggressive tumors of bone and soft tissues.

Share this post!

In the 2019 issue of Future

Future is the official magazine of the Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our medical alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2019 issue

Categories for this article :