Alumni News

Alumni News

danieL r. cottaM, M.D. Class of 1997Daniel R. Cottam, M.D. Class of 1997, won the LEAD award for surgical innovation from the American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery. The award highlights his pioneering work in the role of Single Anastamosis Duodenal Switch.

ronaLd J. croSSno, M.D. Class of 1981Ronald J. Crossno, M.D. Class of 1981, will receive in March 2020 the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. He serves as chief medical officer and national medical director (hospice division) for Kindred at Home in Atlanta, Georgia.

eLLen thoMaSon derrick, M.D., Class of 2001Ellen Thomason Derrick, M.D., Class of 2001, M.P.H., FACS, FSVS, owns BoxBar Vascular, a vascular surgery practice in Seattle, Washington. She serves on the American College of Surgeons Board of Governors, Executive Committee for the Society for Vascular Surgery Section on Outpatient & Office Vascular Care, and as lead surgical informaticist for the Providence Health System.

John H. Doran, M.D., Class of 1973, FACP, was named a member of the Society of the Double Helix by The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Douglas B. Duncan, M.D. Class of 1980, M.P.H., and S. Allison Mayer-Oakes, M.D. Class of 1981, M.S.P.H., are working in primary care in Santa Barbara, California, after many interesting professional endeavors over the last four decades.

Peter R. Ermis, M.D. Class of 2005, FACC, has been named medical director of Adult Congenital Heart Disease at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston, Texas. He also was named head of Adult Medicine at Texas Children’s Hospital.

Stephen J. Halliday, M.D. Class of 2011, MSCI, is an assistant professor of medicine in pulmonary and critical care medicine at the University of Wisconsin. This follows eight years of post-graduate training and work at Vanderbilt University.

Kathleen E. Hands, M.D., FACE, ECNU, who did her fellowship in endocrinology at the Long School of Medicine, owns the Thyroid & Endocrine Center of South Texas in San Antonio.

Jay L. Kovar, M.D. Class of 1989, has been promoted to partner and regional medical director for Emergency Medicine Gulf Division with Sound Physicians, Inc. covering nine hospital Emergency Department practices in Texas and Louisiana.

Julia Irvine Calcote, M.D. Class of 1997, recently completed 10 years as a company doctor for Wycliffe Bible Translators.

Jonathan Hoang Lam, M.D. Class of 1992, AAFP, is in private practice with Family Healthcare Associates in Arlington, Texas. He has been a TV and radio talk show host and has a medical talk podcast.

James D. Lehmann, M.D. Class of 2001, recently returned from a one-week trip to Mandalay, Myanmar, with ORBIS’ Flying Eye Hospital. Through lectures, demonstrations and clinic, he taught local eye surgeons about new techniques in corneal transplantation, and he took 10 corneas that helped 10 patients be able to see again.

zaid MahMood, M.D. Class of 2019taYLor ann ruSSeLL, M.D. Class of 2019Zaid Mahmood, M.D. Class of 2019, and Taylor Ann Russell, M.D. Class of 2019, have both entered their first year of residency at the University of Kansas School of Medicine. They are participating in the Wichita Family Medicine Residency Program at Ascension Via Christi Hospitals.

MaJ. Gen. Joe d. roBinSon, M.D. Class of 1987Maj. Gen. Joe D. Robinson, M.D. Class of 1987, was promoted to the rank of major general in the U.S. Army Reserve and took over command of the 3d Medical Command (Deployment Support) in Atlanta, Georgia.

Beth M. T. Teegarden, M.D. Class of 2010, was recently featured in the American Board of Anesthesiology Blog on Women in Anesthesiology. She is an assistant professor of anesthesiology and medical director of the Surgical Intensive Care Unit at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Share Your News!Please email the Office of Alumni Engagement at or call 210-567-3051 with professional news.


Share this post!

In the 2019 issue of Future

Future is the official magazine of the Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our medical alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2019 issue

Categories for this article :