Alumni News

Michael P. Bonner, D.D.S. Class of 1975, earned his fellowship from the International Congress of Oral Implantologists in 2014 and was awarded his certificate in Las Vegas in 2018. He practices primarily oral surgery and implant dentistry in Pleasanton, Texas, two days a week.

Birgit Junfin Glass, D.D.S. Class of 1975, M.S., was awarded the title of professor emeritus upon her retirement after 42.5 years of service to the School of Dentistry at UT Health San Antonio. She is married to Thomas G. Glass, D.D.S. Class of 1977.

Michael Hoffman, D.D.S.Michael J. Hoffmann, D.D.S. Class of 1988, FACD, FAGD, FICD, is a diplomate of both the American Dental Board of Anesthesiology and the National Dental Board of Anesthesiology. He is a dental anesthesiologist and sedation dentist at his The Dental Anesthesia Center in St. Louis, Missouri.

María López Howell, D.D.S. Class of 1983, stepped down after almost 29 years as a spokesperson for the American Dental Association. She is now pursuing interests in the dental industry.

Joe W. Krayer, D.D.S.Joe W. Krayer, D.D.S. Class of 1983, professor in the Division of Periodontics at the Medical University of South Carolina College of Dental Medicine, has been elected to serve as a director of the American Board of Periodontology. The ABP manages the Board Certification process for periodontists.

Andrew Lazaris and Wilson Lo, both D.D.S. Class of 1996, and Shane Ricci, D.D.S. Class of 2006, have all been voted Best Dentists by D Magazine for the seventh consecutive year. The three are in private practice at Texas Dental, which Dr. Lazaris founded in 1999. All three doctors have earned multiple awards throughout the years. They are all fellows in the Academy of General Dentistry.

Robert Lemke, D.D.S.Robert Lemke, D.D.S. Class of 1987, has been voted onto the Board of Directors for the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) at its 2019 meeting in Washington, D.C. He also has been elected into the International Team of Implantology (ITI) as a fellow. He is a board-certified oral and maxillofacial surgeon, who also earned his medical degree and completed his oral and maxillofacial residency training at UT Health San Antonio.

Christina Meiners, D.D.S. Class of 2010, was honored by the American Dental Association with one of the inaugural 2018 10 Under 10 awards, which recognizes 10 new dentists who demonstrate excellence in their work, community and inspiring others. Meiners is a leader in the Hispanic Dental Association and her community. She initiated a program to influence high school students to pursue a career in dentistry.

Gregory Osborne, D.D.S.Gregory Osborne, D.D.S. Class of 1981, was certified as a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Sleep Medicine. In 2017, he founded Sleep Easy Dentistry and has more than 30 years of experience in sleep medicine and helping patients with airway problems. He has held an adjunct faculty appointment since 2005 at the dental school.

Brian Partido, M.S.D.H.Brian Partido, M.S.D.H. Class of 2014, B.S.D.H., is an assistant professor in the Division of Dental Hygiene in the College of Dentistry at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. He earned a $30,000 grant from the Delta Dental Foundation, a $30,000 grant from the Colgate CARE Program, and the 2019 Olav Alvarez Award from the Journal of Dental Education.

Robert Burton White, D.D.S. Class of 1995, retired in December 2018 after working as a general dentist for Permanente Dental Associates in Salem, Oregon, since 2005. Prior to his civilian career, he retired from the U.S. Navy in 2005 after a distinguished military career in dentistry.

Ralf P. Zapata, D.D.S. Class of 1987, recently sold his dental practice in Niceville, Florida, and is now enjoying semi-retired life, working six to eight days per month. He and Rhonda are enjoying life as grandparents of three and traveling throughout the United States.

Share Your News!Please email the Office of Alumni Engagement at or call 210-567-3051 with professional news.

Share this post!

In the 2019 issue of Salute

Salute is the official magazine for the alumni and friends of the School of Dentistry at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our dental alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2019 issue

Categories for this article :