Amanda Morris, DMD, Selected as 2021 Awardee of Kramer Scholar Award

Amanda Morris, DMD

AMANDA MORRIS, DMD, has been selected as the 2021 awardee of the Dr. and Mrs. Gerald M. Kramer Scholar Award for Excellence by the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) Foundation. This highly esteemed award recognizes a periodontal resident who has demonstrated a personal motivation for excellence in character and academic achievement. As this year’s awardee, Dr. Morris has upheld personal integrity through leadership, community involvement, and a genuine concern for others in need.

“Only one out of 58 residency programs receive this award every year,” said Angela Palaiologou-Gallis, DDS, MS, professor and director of the Graduate Program in Periodontics. “In the 25 years this award has been given by the Foundation, our residents have won nine times. That’s an unmatched record of success and is a testament to the character of the men and women who join our periodontics program, and I am truly honored to be part of this amazing department.”

To give a little more perspective, Dr. Palaiologou-Gallis mentioned that the residency program with the second highest success rate has three award winners. Dr. Morris’ win this year and Dr. Adam Saltz’ win in 2020 make this the second time in the award’s history that recipients from UT Health San Antonio have been selected in consecutive years. Dr. Mary Beth Neill and Dr. Christopher Richardson were selected as Kramer award recipients in 1997 and 1998, respectively.

Share this post!

In the 2021 issue of Salute

Salute is the official magazine for the alumni and friends of the School of Dentistry at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our dental alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2021 issue

Categories for this article :