Alumni Briefs

UT Health School of Nursing School of Nursing

Veronica V. Campos, D.N.P.Veronica V. Campos, D.N.P. Class of 2017, M.S.N. Class of 2015, B.S.N. Class of 2008, RN, NE-BC, OCN, is the Sarah Cannon Division Director of Oncology Navigation at Methodist Healthcare in San Antonio. She has been in her current role as the San Antonio director of oncology navigation since August 2018.

Dr. Campos served as the nominating committee chair and president-elect of the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) San Antonio Chapter. She is currently serving as president of the ONS San Antonio Chapter, co-chair for the Annual Vendor Dinner, and chair of the 2020 San Antonio ONS Congress planning committee. In 2019, she was named the Oncology Nurse of the Year for the San Antonio ONS chapter.
Paul R. Clark, Ph.D.Paul R. Clark, Ph.D. Class of 2010, M.S.N. Class of 2006, RN, assistant professor at the University of Louisville School of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky, is being inducted this year as a Fellow in the Academy of Emergency Nursing (AEN).

This designation recognizes emergency nurses who have made enduring, substantial contributions to emergency nursing; advanced the profession of emergency nursing, including the health care system in which emergency nursing is delivered; and provided visionary leadership to the Emergency Nurses Association and AEN. Inductees are recognized for contributions to emergency nursing that go above and beyond being an outstanding nurse. Fellows are entitled to use the FAEN designation following their name.
Carol Reineck Huebner, Ph.D., M.S.N.Carol Reineck Huebner, Ph.D., M.S.N. Class of 1982, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, FAAN, professor emeritus, presented at the Association of Military Surgeons of the U.S. (Society of Federal Medical Agencies), National Harbor, Maryland, in December 2019. Dr. Huebner and Dr. Takayo Maeda presented their poster, “Development and Validation of the Japanese Disaster Nursing Readiness Evaluation Index.” Dr. Huebner served as a member of Dr. Maeda’s doctoral dissertation committee at Kobe University in Japan.
Carolyn Mueller, Ph.D., M.S.N.Carolyn Mueller, Ph.D., M.S.N. Class of 1985, RN, retired assistant professor of clinical nursing at UT Austin, presented her lecture titled “Children, Spirit and Faith” during the Sr. Margaret Mary (Lucilla), CCVI, Nursing Lecture in March. The lecture is hosted by the Ila Faye Miller School of Nursing and Health Professions at the University of the Incarnate Word.
John Ntagha, D.N.P.John Ntagha, D.N.P. Class of 2015, M.S.N., M.B.A., M.A., RN, received the MD Anderson Cancer Center 2020 Distinguished Mentor Award for his exceptional mentorship abilities.

At MD Anderson, Dr. Ntagha serves as a clinical documentation improvement specialist for the Cancer Prevention Research Training Program.
Angela D. Pal, Ph.D.Angela D. Pal, Ph.D. Class of 2015, RN, ACNP-BC, is assistant professor and specialty director of the Adult Gerontology Acute Care NP Program in the College of Nursing at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus.

Dr. Pal serves as a member of the Graduate Curriculum Evaluation Committee and the University of Colorado school counselor for the Alpha Kappa at-large Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society.

She has volunteered for the past two years in a medical mission with the University of Colorado Heart Team in Nepal. This past year they screened 1,400 patients for rheumatic heart disease in two rural clinics in Nepal and provided care for many patients diagnosed with heart disease.
Carliss Ramos, D.N.P.Carliss Ramos, D.N.P. Class of 2020, RN, transplant quality coordinator at Houston Methodist Hospital, was honored as one of the Top 15 Nurses by The Houston Chronicle.

In the nomination for the award, Dr. Ramos’ work was described as: “Her work in transplant quality assurance has helped numerous patients have better outcomes and experiences throughout the transplant process; she singlehandedly identified a safety risk and now is lecturing to educate the medical community nationwide. She is truly saving lives.”

Regarding being selected as one of the top nurse leaders in Houston for 2020, Dr. Ramos said, “2020 is the 200th anniversary of the greatest of all-time nurse, Florence Nightingale. It is the year I graduate as a D.N.P. So, all this combined is wonderful.”

In May 2020, Dr. Ramos earned her D.N.P. Her project was “Decreasing Venous Thromboembolism in Lung Transplant Patients: A Quality Improvement Project.” She worked with her Chair Wesley F. Richardson, Ph.D., M.S.N., RN, CNL, and Committee Members Clarice Golightly-Jenkins, Ph.D., RN, CS, and Andrea E. Berndt, Ph.D. “They helped make my D.N.P. project a reality,” Dr. Ramos said.
Share Your News!Please email the Office of Alumni Engagement at or call 210-567-3051 with professional news.

Share this post!

In the 2020 issue of Tribute

Tribute is the official magazine for the alumni and friends of the School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2020 issue

Categories for this article :