Nursing Advisory Council: A Legacy of Support

NursIng AdvIsory CouncIl current and emeriti members include (front row from left) Barbara Banker, Amparo Ortiz, Paula Gray, Debby Hepburn, Victoria Paparelli, Phyllis Chelette, Patricia Moss, (middle row) Judy Schlesinger, Louise Beldon, Kathleen O’Shea, Dana Wheeler Terracina, Phyllis Siegel, Lupita Medina, Eileen Breslin, Joanie Schwartz, Mary Beth Fisk, Barbara Wulfe, Eileen Lundin, Patricia Pliego Stout, (back row) Terri Edlund, Karen Herrmann, Alvin Loewenberg, John Franklin (current chair), Gregg Muenster and Bill Rasco. Not pictured are current members: Barbara Haley, Luke Healy, Betty Howard, & Ann Richardson. Not pictured are emeriti members: Robin Ancira, Kristi Arlitt, Estela Avery, Donna Block, Erin Bowman, Rosemary Breedlove, Graciela Cigarroa, Robin Ford Dillard, Toni Goldsmith, Walton Gregory, Betty Halff, Anthony Hargrove, Patty L. Hawken, Mary Henrich, Sandy Klein, Earline Lagueruela, Debbie Lewis, Nancy B. Loeffler, Nancy Miller, Maria Cristina Rodriguez, Marie Smith, Marilyn Stanton-White, Lewis Thorne, Wendy Tillotson, Sue Turner, & Neill Walsdorf, Sr.

Since 1983, the Nursing Advisory Council (NAC) has been an invaluable source of support to the School of Nursing. The NAC was established with seven members under the leadership of then Dean Patty L. Hawken. Brigadier General Ken Milam served as the first chair from 1983 through 1985. The Council has served as a bridge between the school and community. Formed with an approved set of guidelines and committees, its purpose was to raise funds for research and other special activities.

Today, the NAC’s mission is “To promote excellence in nursing care by supporting baccalaureate and graduate degree programs through increasing community visibility and financial support of the UT Health School of Nursing.” This mission is executed through its current and emeriti members by facilitating partnerships, increasing awareness of the school’s programs and activities, and generating financial support for students and faculty.

With funds raised at the annual NAC Spring Luncheon, the Council over the past five years has been able to award more than $300,000 in student scholarships and faculty grants and scholarships.

Share this post!

In the 2019 issue of Tribute

Tribute is the official magazine for the alumni and friends of the School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Read and share inspiring stories highlighting our alumni, faculty and students who are revolutionizing education, research, patient care and critical services in the communities they serve.

View the 2019 issue

Categories for this article :