The magazine of the School of Dentistry at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

13th Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament

Ray Scott, D.D.S., Class of 1983 (from left); Kyle Gross, dental student/”ringer”; Danny Richter and Ryan Blair made up the Carus Dental golf team.

Fun Fundraiser Benefits Students

Dental school alumni and friends enjoyed blue skies and friendly competition during the school’s annual golf tournament last spring at The Republic Golf Course.
Set in late April on the Battle of Flowers holiday, the 2017 event featured a luncheon and awards ceremony following the tournament. Since the tournament’s inception, more than $110,000 has been raised for the Last Man Standing Scholarship Endowment and the School of Dentistry Memorial Scholarship.
The 2018 golf tournament is scheduled for Friday, April 27, at The Republic Golf Club on the southeast side of San Antonio. Alumni, faculty, students and community members play in the tournament. Students who play are sponsored by generous donors.
An awards luncheon and prize drawing are set after the morning’s round of golf. Registration deadline is Friday, April 13.

2017 Award Winners
1st Place A Flight
Michael Mansueto
Pat Mattie
Richard Rutledge
Matthew Simmons

Participants Michael Ross (from left) and Nick Ewing enjoyed the 13th annual golf tournament.

1st Place B Flight
Bob Feike
Ardy Feike
Bro. Lou Mangini

2nd Place A Flight
David Cummings
Barry Holleron
Howard Kochwelp
Steven Payne

2nd Place B Flight
Jeff Beal
Gerald Crouch
Patrick Grady
Robert Holdsworth

Last Place
Roland Alonzo
Corbin Clifton
Robert Edwards
Sidharth Reddy

Longest Drive A Flight
Garrett Howze

Longest Drive B Flight
Nestor Olague

Closest to the Pin A Flight
Matthew Simmons

Closest to the Pin B Flight
Bro. Lou Mangini

Tournament Sponsor – Carus Dental
Gold Sponsors – Frost Bank, Thomas R. Watkins, D.D.S.
Bronze Sponsors – Advanced Smile Care, Corpus Christi General & Implant Dentistry, and Rapanotti Dental
Breakfast Sponsor – SA Concepts

If you are interested in becoming a 2018 tournament sponsor, please contact Jennifer Clark in the Dean’s Office at 210-567-6536 or

About the Author

Leave a Reply