Appointments and awards

Sunil K. Ahuja, M.D.A paper published by Sunil K. Ahuja, M.D., was ranked as one of the top 20 scientific advances made by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases-funded researchers in 2015. The paper demonstrates the immune-health benefits of early HIV treatment.

Janie Canty-Mitchell, Ph.D.Janie Canty-Mitchell, Ph.D., has been named chair of the Healthcare Diversity Council board of directors. Dr. Canty-Mitchell serves as professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Health Systems and interim chair of the Department of Health Restoration and Care Systems Management in the School of Nursing.

Deborah L. Conway, M.D.Deborah L. Conway, M.D., has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. She currently is associate dean for curriculum in the Office of Undergraduate Medical Education. Dr. Conway is a Fellow of the American College of Obstetrics & Gynecology and is board certified in obstetrics and gynecology and maternal-fetal medicine. Her clinical and research area of focus is diabetes in pregnancy.

Edward Ellis, D.D.S.Edward Ellis, D.D.S., received the first American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons Clinical Research Award for Fellows and Members. The award recognizes leaders in the specialty who are researching new and innovative diagnostic and therapeutic interventions that will advance clinical practice.

Luci K. Leykum, M.D.Luci K. Leykum, M.D., professor of medicine, was named chief of the newly created Division of General and Hospital Medicine. Dr. Leykum was associate dean for clinical affairs since 2010, and has been division chief of hospital medicine since 2008. In her new position, she will work with the 60 faculty from the combined divisions to support and build on their educational, clinical and research endeavors.

Craig Manifold, D.O.Craig Manifold, D.O., clinical assistant professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine, received the Michael Copass Leadership Award from the Major Metropolitan Medical Directors for his efforts in leading emergency management services nationwide.

Michael Mills, D.M.D., M.S.Michael Mills, D.M.D., M.S., received the American Academy of Periodontology Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award. Dr. Mills is a clinical associate professor with teaching responsibilities in the postdoctoral division of the Department of Periodontics in the School of Dentistry.

Basil A. Pruitt Jr., M.D., FACSBasil A. Pruitt Jr., M.D., FACS, a clinical professor and burn surgeon, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from AMSUS, the Society of Federal Health Professionals.

W. Brian Reeves, M.D.W. Brian Reeves, M.D., was named chair of the Department of Medicine in the School of Medicine. Dr. Reeves is a former professor and vice chair of medicine and chief of the Division of Nephrology at Penn State College of Medicine.

David Senn, D.D.S.David Senn, D.D.S., clinical assistant professor of comprehensive dentistry, was named president of the American Society of Forensic Odontology. Dr. Senn is the director of the Center for Education and Research in Forensics, director of postdoctoral fellowship in forensic odontology, director of the Southwest Symposium on Forensic Dentistry, and chief forensic odontologist for the Bexar County Medical Examiner’s Office.

David Weiss, Ph.D.David Weiss, Ph.D., was named a University of Texas System Chancellor’s Health Fellow in Graduate Education. The program was established in 2004 to recognize high-impact work at individual health institutions that are aligned with the overarching mission of the UT System and have potential for broad societal impact on health care education and research.


You may also like

Leave a comment