The magazine of the Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio

Alumni Weekend 2016

Back row (from left): Kathryn Klima, Fahael Khan, Bima Agrawal, Nydia Agrawal and Sam Afshar. Front row (from left): Callie Byrd, Christina Merritt and Laura Lindner.

Graduates Enjoy Fellowship, Tour of New Academic Center

Darrick Payne, Tony Aventa, Niti Randhawa, David Riepe, Karen Harrison and Kelli Culpepper

Gayne Brenneman (from left), Leigh Shapleigh, Martha Medrano and Jacqueline Pugh

Alumni Weekend 2016 kicked off with a family barbecue at the new Academic Learning & Teaching Center, known as ALTC, on the main campus. Graduates from several decades visited with classmates and made new friends with fellow alumni and their families on Oct. 14-15.
Graduates stayed at the Elian Hotel Resort & Spa on La Cantera Parkway. Some alumni took advantage of two Continuing Medical Education courses on Saturday before attending a Dean’s Luncheon. The luncheon was followed by a tour of the campus.
A dinner and auction Saturday evening at the Elian Hotel included recognizing Steven J. Cyr, M.D., Class of 1996, as the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus. He is a board certified orthopaedic surgeon who specializes in spine surgery. Dr. Cyr is founder and president of The Orthopaedic & Spine Institute of San Antonio.

About the Author

Leave a Reply